Posted by: Anne Jefferson | January 2, 2010

Hydrology is hot, again.

Want to work outdoors, in a lab, or in front of a computer?  Want to work on solving practical problems in the environment? Want to be a geoscientist with job prospects after graduation? Become a hydrologist.

Over the past 18 months, hydrology hires have increased 30%, while geology hires have decreased by an equal amount.  US News and World Report also lists hydrologist as one of the 50 best careers for 2010. According to US News, “There were 8,100 hydrologist jobs in 2008, and employment should grow more than 18 percent by 2018.”

More extended thoughts on why hydrology is hot can be found here. Or in any of my classes. Or, actually, anytime you ask me what I do and why I like it.

Responses

  1. You got your own blog! Congratulations! I will pay close attention. I was bored silly with hydrogeology (water underground), but hydrology is a different matter.

  2. Hi Lockwood. Yes, I got my own blog, but I’m not going to stop my occasional contributions to Chris Rowan’s Highly Allochthonous. I use this space mostly as a way to keep track of things related to my teaching and research group, and sometimes for short pieces (like the one above) that aren’t quite up to snuff for the vaunted halls of Highly Allochthonous. :-) Thanks for reading.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.